One for the Road

First and foremost, for those of you who read my last post, I have to admit that I almost took cuts yesterday.  Of course, it was in a small group of people, mostly family, and the person who I almost “cut” was my father.  All of a sudden I remembered my promise and decided that I would let him go first.  I am still good with my promise and hopefully will remain so.

Now, this is a more participative blog; I really want your comments on this one.  As I have observed the devastation of natural disasters or other types of destruction of homes, I have wondered, “If I had just a few seconds to grab something in my house to take with me and everything else would be destroyed, what would I take?”  Now in this context I realize that human life is most important.  Making sure our family and perhaps pets are safe would be our first concern, and rightly so.  But, for this project, we will assume that all those you love are safe and protected and also that you are not in need of choosing  anything to sustain life, such as food or water.   We will also exclude legal documents such as birth certificates, deeds to houses, and so forth.  This is just simply an exercise to decide what material possession is most important to you and why.

For now, I’m going to withhold my decision.  In fact, I would like a little more time to think about it, but I am very interested in what material possessions people value most.  So, have fun with this and please take time to respond.

Remember that 2 Plus 2 Doesn’t Always Equal 4                                                                     [And please take time to read my original post to understand Why the Title of this Blog? (Feb. 17, 2011)]

23 responses to “One for the Road

  1. If I could only grab one thing, what would it be? Good question!
    Well, let’s see. There’s this teddy bear that I have had literally since the day I was born. It was given to me by one set of grandparents (I can’t really remember which one. Honestly, I don’t think anybody can.) on the day of my birth. It’s just a little thing, has a rattle in it and everything. I even brought it to college with me (Don’t tell.) That stupid little stuffed animal holds so many memories for me. Plus, it’s something familiar. So, if I could only go back and get one thing, it would be that. It would be that bear (it’s really a dog, but when I was little, I couldn’t tell. So, Teddy it became.) That’s what I would take.

  2. The one item from home–probably the bundle of USB drives, since it would be virtually impossible to recreate all of the information they contain (there are 8 hooked together). Now if you were asking the same question about one item to save from my office…that would be a bit tougher. That’s where all the “good stuff” is located–the autographed photos, the assorted memorabilia, and, of course, the books.

    • Karen,
      I have also thought about the value of technology in this decision. For instance, I would hate to lose pictures of my children. It is possible to have them saved using technology so they could be replicated. I like your choice, also.

  3. Jeannie know I got this question I often living with the aftershocks of an earthquake since I was born because ‘if it happened at night shoes and clothes if it happened the day I would say the compiuter with pictures of my children

    • Well, Lindsey, I would choose something different, because I can give you all the photos of Dallin you want. What’s that you say? You want exactly zero.

  4. My photo albums or pictures off the way of my husband and my kids.
    Because baby photo and such you can’t replace. A pillow if i have time and my jewelry box.

    • It’s interesting that you mentioned your pillow, because I have always told people my pillow is my most prized material possession. I LOVE my pillow. It is the best. Every time I go on a trip, it comes with me. Of course, those pictures really are more important.

      • I’m not the only one then. lol I would feel lost without my pillow. Hard to find a favorite. My friend had a house fire and lost everything and she said that the most heartbreaking thing was her photos.

  5. My tennis racquet…No, I’m just kidding, my old photo albums. I would choose those because almost anything else (including scriptures, favorite books, etc.) could be replaced, but photo albums can not.

    • I think that tennis racquet could come in handy for a weapon if needed,not a bad idea. Yes, it looks like pictures seem to be the most valuable item to most of us.

  6. 2 terrabyte backup hard drive which hot swaps (instantly releases from carrier), contains everything: all pix, home movies, important documents (including patriarchal blessings, scrips, etc ), music, podcasts, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, about 100 other movie archives, electronic books that run on iPhone & ipad (which I would also grab). Equipment I can replace, memories are precious.

    • You definitely would not want to lose that Monty Python and the Holy Grail movie. Of course, now that you have offended the Math Gods you never know.

  7. I honestly don’t know if there is anything I would grab. I tend to get over not having things fairly quickly. But I do have this little shoebox with stuff from when me and Tay were dating, engaged, and then our wedding day. Lots of love notes we wrote each other. I guess I would want that for the time being just to show our kids someday. And I guess my computer and cell phone. I’m probably most attached to those.

  8. I have always told Devin (even when i go out of town), that if there is a house fire, the most important thing–for HIM and me– would be to save my journals. There are years and years of journal memories there. I have the luxury of having saved almost every picture take of Camden already to an online source, so that is not a necessary thing. I would probably have to include my computer and phone, as there are journal types of things on there as well. They are, for the most part, all in the same place. If I have to, I will throw them out the window and hope for the best. Of course, that’s only once all family members are safe and sound, but perhaps Devin would be after the journals, and I would be after Camden (or vice versa depending on the physical needs to accomplish our task of saving everything). I have thought this through many times. It’s always my journals.

    • Perhaps a good reason to keep them in a “cloud” also, but I know the value of those handwritten journals. The handwriting can add a personal touch to your life. You better write legibly.

Leave a Reply

