Another Look

Now, it was not my intention to post another blog today, as I am trying desperately to finish a take home test for Complex Analysis as well as other mass homework that my professors gave me to make sure I didn’t get bored during Spring Break.  Never mind that March Madness begins this week; my professors were flying to Sri Lanka and China respectively to spend time with their families, which I guess is understandable since we have to import professors to teach math in our country.  Evidently they do not have as much interest in basketball despite the fact that UNLV plays tonight in the “Madness” that this family loves.  However, I received a comment on my last blog from none other than that handsome husband of mine reprimanding me for my last post.  Apparently after being married to him for 28 years, he still doesn’t get my sense of humor, but who can blame him, there are not many people who do.  I’ll talk about that on another post.

Well, it appears that he did not like my self-deprecating comments on my blog (see his comment under “A Brief History of My Life”). So, as a matter of not perpetuating that self-deprecation any further, I’m going to tell you that I really am the most wonderful person in the world.  I am sure they will have to sell tickets to my funeral so you might want to consider preordering.  Certainly my full autobiography will be available to all who attend.  In fact, I will have it published and will spend the next twenty years of my life autographing each copy.  If you let me know in advance that you plan on attending, I will even personalize it for you.  In fact, if you just want to say something nice about me now instead of waiting for me to die, I will even include your comment in my book along with the attribution of proper credit.

This all, of course, is determinant upon you all outliving me.  You see, I am kind of like a cockroach and I very well could outlive every creature on earth.  Therefore, I am going to make a one time offer of purchasing my autobiography prior to my funeral.  If it serves no better purpose, it could possibly be a good sleep remedy, but then again it could keep you on pins and needles.

Now in all seriousness, I want you to know that I really have written a personal history, however, it is only updated to 1993.  I have committed myself to updating it as soon as I graduate from school.  That will cover an additional 18 year period.  It is amazing that it has been that long and how much has happened in the interim.  I look forward to the opportunity to bring it up to date because I remember that writing about the first 30 years of my life (yes I know I gave away my age) was an extraordinary experience.  That is not to say that I am an extraordinary person, but only that it is a very wonderful and humbling experience to reminisce on one’s life and to understand the positive role that so many have had on me becoming who I am.  And, to each of you who have played a positive role, I give my utmost thanks.  It is also refreshing to realize the many blessings that I have had and to recognize that even the hardships were ultimately character building.

So, my challenge to each of you, if you haven’t already done so, is to write a personal history.   When I originally wrote mine, I felt that I was doing so for my future posterity.  In the process, I found out that it was my life that was blessed.  I am grateful for that opportunity and consider it to be one of the best experiences of my life.

As I think of all those histories to be written, I am reminded of a poem that I love and am sure that is familiar to many of you.  It is called “The Dash”.  I do not include it here because of my respect for copyright laws, but I do include the hyperlink.  If you haven’t heard it, or if you would like to reread it, I know you will love it as much as I do.

Remember that 2 Plus 2 Doesn’t Always Equal 4                                                                     [And please take time to read my original post to understand Why the Title of this Blog? (Feb. 17, 2011)]

5 responses to “Another Look

  1. (1) Don’t forget to arrange for an audio version. I think we know someone who would be perfect to narrate/read the book (and it probably would boost sales).

    (2) When I teach public history, one thing I have my students do is write their own obituary–and tell them that they need to be creative in how they died, how they lived, etc., but that they died at the age of 72. It’s amazing what they write–and how they describe how they died. I still remember the one student who claimed to have died in childbirth–and, when I asked him for an explanation, he said that he died while his teenage bride was giving birth to their child.

    • I think I will propose that audio version to that person who would boosts sales. I’m sure he would just jump at the chance, anyway maybe if I had enough money to pay him. That story about the 72 year old dieing during childbirth is hilarious.

  2. Personally, I would never question you being the most wonderful person born on this earth, or whatever it was that you said…but I gotta figure that your sire might post offense, as it has always been my impression that he is…(according to your maternal unit) but then, I guess it could be mitochondral…

  3. “That is not to say that I am an extraordinary person, but only that it is a very wonderful and humbling experience to reminisce on one’s life and to understand the positive role that so many have had on me becoming who I am. And, to each of you who have played a positive role, I give my utmost thanks. It is also refreshing to realize the many blessings that I have had and to recognize that even the hardships were ultimately character building.”

    Thank you, Jeannie. Now on behalf of all of us who have been a positive role for you, may I say that never did we give up on you, even though you were the challenge of our … what’s that you say? You were really thinking of me as more like the “character building” variety of influence for you? Gheesh!

Leave a Reply

