Why the Title of This Blog?

I’m a mathematician, or at least a mathematician in training.  I’m currently in my last two classes and will graduate this May.  Over the past years, I’ve learned a lot about math, physics, people, and especially myself.  The things that are most important in my life are my religion, family, people, “The Nanny”, education–especially in mathematics and sciences, and politics.  They may not be listed in order of importance, but then again, maybe they are.

What I’ve learned most about people over the past years, is that we all come with our unique experiences, perceptions, trials, and blessings in this life.  What adds up for one of us, might add up quite differently for another.  For example, I once did an object lesson wherein I listed on the board 1) 2+2=10,  2) 2+2=11, 3) 2+2=4,  4) 2+2= 1, and 5) 2+2=0.  I asked which of these answers is correct.  Of course, the obvious is 3) 2+2=4.  Yet, in reality, all of these answers are accurate.  (You will either have to take my word for this or take enough math classes  to understand it in its entirety.  I recommend you take my word, unless, of course, you’re up for the challenge).  So why do most of us not see beyond only 3) being correct?  Well, most of our experience is in working in base 10 (an elementary school concept), but there are other bases we can work with and we can also use something called mod addition.  So here is how they all add up: 1) Base 4 addition, 2) Base 3 addition, 3) Base 10 addition, 4) mod 3 addition, and 5) mod 4 addition.

We are often so blinded by our own experiences that we often fail to even see other possibilities, little lone to acknowledge that those possibilities may be valid.  My vision is to open my mind to all possibilities; to listen to other voices and ideas; to gain insight from the experiences of others.  By listening and opening my mind, I hope to become a better person.  I may not always be persuaded to another point of view, but then at times I might.  I know I will not ever be persuaded to abandon my core values, but I do understand that there may be valid reasons why another person doesn’t embrace those same ideas.  Perhaps, though, if they are willing to open their minds to other possibilities, they too will see through the eyes, minds, and experiences of others–perhaps even my own.

My blog may not be followed by many, perhaps not anyone.  It may end up being just a personal therapeutic outlet for me.  I’m not going to even bring it to my families attention in the beginning.    I’ll give myself time to develop my thoughts and ideas.  I know one thing, my entries will have a lot of variety–from the silly, to the serious, perhaps spiritual, definitely at times political, and I know I won’t be able at times to resist quoting from “The Nanny”.  After all, it is what has helped me to laugh during difficult times.

If I do get any followers, I definitely welcome their comments, especially those who disagree with me as long as they are respectful.  It is in this way, that I can learn about those possibilities that I haven’t yet considered.  I look forward to this and thus the title of this blog.  I have a lot of things on my mind about which to post, but I also have many obligations that take up my time.  So, I’ll post as often as I get the opportunity.

In the meantime, remember that 2 Plus 2 Doesn’t Always Equal 4.

5 responses to “Why the Title of This Blog?

  1. I can already tell I’m going to like your blog! I haven’t been blogging lately OR checking blogs, but I might have to make a little time to check in on yours 😉 Nice point here with 2+2 doesn’t always = 4. Something to think about!

  2. Okay–I figured out the addition using the various bases, but you lost me at mod. Never got that far in math–or if I did, it’s stuck in the recesses of my brain and not something I could quickly recall if I were a contestant on Jeopardy.

    • Yes Karen, most of us have been exposed to different bases as far back as elementary school, but mod or modular addition is something that is learned in upper-division math classes. It really isn’t hard at all, in fact, probably more simple than bases. For instance in mod 5 addition you add two numbers together and then divide by 5. If the sum is divisible by 5 the answer is 0. If it is not divisible by 5 then the answer is the remainder. Very easy, but also very useful in what we call Group Theory which has applications in cryptology.

  3. I commend you on your open mindedness and the fact you are non judgmental. Enjoy hearing Nanny quotes myself now and then. lol We shall follow your blogs, I didn’t get the math equations, although i have heard of base 10.

Leave a Reply

