What’s with that Watson Guy. . .

For those of you who watched Jeopardy this week, you may have been amazed to see the center contestant be a little boy who looked like a computer.  Now I know they tried to pass him off as a computer,  but I have inside information so that I KNOW there was really a little guy in that box.  Why they would think it was more amazing that a computer could perform so well rather than the little three-year-old inside, I don’t know.  I would have been much more impressed with that little toddler beating the heck out of those Jeopardy Hall of Famer’s than a computer named Watson!

Of course, I was disappointed that he didn’t pull off Final Jeopardy on Tuesday night.  But how many three-year-olds do you know that know Toronto is not a U.S. city?  This is how I see it.  You can program this little toddler to know all kinds of facts and information–to decipher a question and search who knows how many databases packed inside of his mind, but this is what the three-year-old can’t do.  He can’t reason.  So when they gave him basic questions wherein he could just regurgitate information, he was fine.  But, when they gave him the kind of questions where there may be more than one possible answer with some pun or other hint to help determine which of the possible answers (or questions in this case) was the right one, he had a much more difficult time.  Tuesday night was his night of nights.  The questions were of the easier type that he could handle well, but Wednesday, awe, that was another story.

Besides that, everybody knows that three-year-olds overdose on sugar.  They are hyper.  So he was stuck in that box with nothing to do but push that button and he was very quick at it.  His reflexes were right on.  There was no way the two men standing on either side of him could have even come close to his reaction time.  They should have made the boy drink a few beers before the game to slightly adjust for reaction time.  O.K. you say, but he really did kick their butts!  True, and that was quite impressive, but put him up against a four-year-old and then see what happens.  My guess, they will need a bigger box!

Charlie, if you happen to read this post, let me know what you think.  Could you have been as successful against Watson as you were David Duchovny and Chris Matthews.  I’m sorry, I hate to even say David’s name considering what he did with your little Gracie.  I’ll be shocked if I hear from you, they might even have to pick me up off of the floor.

Now remember 2 Plus 2 Doesn’t Always Equal 4 (I wonder if Watson knows this.)                  [And please take time to read my original post to understand Why the Title of this Blog? (Feb. 17, 2011]

Leave a Reply

